An ensemble of the finest musicians offering class, quality and versatility

The new album coming soon

Preludes, Rags and Cakewalks

By The Symphonic Brass of London

This vibrant recording celebrates the 100th anniversary of the death of Claude Debussy (1862-1918) and demonstrates the influence of the ragtime music of his contemporary Scott Joplin (1868-1917) on Debussy’s own music and that of Eric Satie and ‘Les Six’ in France. All of the arrangements, for ten brass and two percussion, are new and original, making this a world premiere recording.

Conductor - Eric Crees

Recording label – MPR

Producer – Mike Purton

Recording engineer – Anthony Falkner

Release date – December 2019

Get notified when the album is released

Sign up here to receive an email reminder in December when the album is out. We won't spam you or pass your details to any third parties.

Track listing

  1. Swipesy – Joplin arr. Crees
  2. Golliwoggs Cakewalk – Debussy arr. Crees
  3. The Strenuous Life – Joplin arr. Crees
  4. Rag-Time Parade – Satie arr. Crees
  5. Solace – Joplin arr. Crees
  6. La Puerta del Vino – Debussy arr.Crees
  7. Rag-Caprice No 1 – Milhaud arr. Crees
  8. Minstrels – Debussy arr. Crees
  9. La Fille aux Cheveux de Lin – Debussy arr. Crees
  10. Adieu New York! – Auric arr. Crees
  11. Searchlight Rag – Joplin arr. Crees
  12. Des pas sur la neige – Debussy arr. Crees
  13. La Diva de L’Empire – Satie arr. Crees
  14. Le Petit Negre – Debussy arr. Crees
  15. Weeping Willow – Joplin arr. Crees
  16. Hommage a S. Pickwick Esq – Debussy arr. Crees
  17. Rose Leaf Rag – Joplin arr. Crees
  18. Le Piccadilly – Satie arr.Crees
  19. Bethena – Joplin arr. Crees
  20. General Lavine – Debussy arr. Crees
  21. Stoptime Rag – Joplin arr. Crees